Day One

Happy New Year!
So prior to Christmas I participated in a challenge with some friends to lose 10 lbs by Christmas. It took eight weeks but I did lose them and am encouraged to lose that last 15 lbs that keeps lingering. Today is the first day of the Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans New Year’s Weight Loss Challenge, Day One of my training for the half marathon training and Day One of blogging about this journey. If you want to know more about the Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans you can check out their website at http://shrinkingjeans.net. They also have a monthly challenge that I am going to do – Fab-Abs January. I found the training schedule for the half marathon at http://www.towomensruns.com/images/215-230-24weeks.pdf. I only have 20 weeks to train so I jumped in at week 5, and am starting the running at intervals of 1min walk / 1 min run. I will increase the running intervals by one minute per week until I reach 10 minutes of continued running. Depending on how things are going in 10 weeks I may continue to increase these intervals for longer running times, or I may just stay at the 10/1’s. From what I understand the route of my goal race (Scotiabank Bluenose Half Marathon – Halifax, NS) is hilly, so I am going to try to have my running routes cover hills if possible.
Today I had an easy run of 3 kms, 1 and 1 intervals, and it took 30 minutes. Road conditions were snow covered gravel (I hate running on gravel), and the bottom of my legs were pretty tight. I finished the run off with some strengthening exercises (Clams, Kick backs, lateral leg raises x 12 each leg) and stretching.
So there we have it, my first blog post 🙂

p.s a special thanks to my Challenge partner Andrea for agreeing to do this with me, my great Facebook family at “I live a healthy lifestyle” and “30 for 365”. Thanks to Deirdre and Keshia (my sisters) who have agreed to run the half with me 🙂 I am surrounded by the most encouraging and supportive people!!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Heather said,

    Great post!!! You can do this!!! That half marathon will be a slice of watermelon (instead of cake) soon… Keep up the great work!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Run Find Your Happy Pace

finding my happy pace in running and life

Marathon Mom

Finally going to run a half marathon

STUFT Mama

Finally going to run a half marathon

Focused Drive

Finally going to run a half marathon

Growing Up Mo!!!

Finally going to run a half marathon

Live Laugh Run Breathe

Finally going to run a half marathon

Running While Mommy

Finally going to run a half marathon

Shut Up + Run

Finally going to run a half marathon

Runs for Cookies

Finally going to run a half marathon

one foot 2 foot

a girl's running tales to promote happy 'n healthy one step at a time

In Mid Stride

A fine WordPress.com site

This Crazy Life of Mine

Living - Loving - Running

another mother runner

engaging and encouraging you to run like a mother

The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans LLC

Empowering and inspiring women to live healthier lives.

finallygoingtodothis

Finally going to run a half marathon

