Long run that wasn’t as long as I thought

Yesterday was a beautiful day for another long run. The sun was out, very little wind and it was just below the zero mark. So I put the chicken into the oven for supper and put on the runners to pound some ground while it cooked. Nothing better than getting two things done at once. I use the MayMyRun program on the computer to map out my routes around my house so that I don’t have to wonder every time if I am going long enough. Well yesterday the route I did was not the 10 + kms like I thought it was, I should have added another “block” but anyway I finished 8.24 kms in 1:06 with 4 x 1 intervals. My knees started to bug me some at about 7 kms but I just shortened my intervals and walked when needed. It probably didn’t help that I ran 3/4 of the route on snow covered gravel roads (have I mentioned it before that I hate running on gravel).
For the last 1.5 kms I thought I would experiment with my stride length, which at a height of 5″2 they tend to be pretty short. I wanted to see if it made a difference and it did, with the longer strides my knees did not bother me as much. It probably had something to do with the impact being more on the heal than on the bottom of the foot. Thanks Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans for responding to my question of whether or not stride length really mattered. It seems in my case it does. This week I am really going to focus on opening up my strides.
Two other things I have to get out and purchase this week, one is a new running bra, two is some running socks.
I cannot believe how much the crosstraining on the elliptical is helping regarding cardio strength. I don’t feel like I am going to die when out running and it is my legs that need to build up again. I am feeling really good about running this time, it does not seem to be as much of a chore as it has before. This may be a common theme for this weight loss and exercise journey I am on which makes be believe this time it is a lifestyle change and not just about a goal.
Here is to another great week!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    LaughingLady said,

    Good for you!! I tried taking up running a couple years ago, but found I just DON’T LIKE IT. And my lower back tends to give me trouble after a while. (although my neck and shoulders give me LESS trouble if I run regularly ~ I just can’t win!!)

    I am still HOPING to fit walking in somewhere despite my job, but I gotta tell ya, it’s not lookin’ good till tax time is over!! (I do seasonal work for a local accounting firm)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Run Find Your Happy Pace

finding my happy pace in running and life

Marathon Mom

Finally going to run a half marathon

STUFT Mama

Finally going to run a half marathon

Focused Drive

Finally going to run a half marathon

Growing Up Mo!!!

Finally going to run a half marathon

Live Laugh Run Breathe

Finally going to run a half marathon

Running While Mommy

Finally going to run a half marathon

Shut Up + Run

Finally going to run a half marathon

Runs for Cookies

Finally going to run a half marathon

one foot 2 foot

a girl's running tales to promote happy 'n healthy one step at a time

In Mid Stride

A fine WordPress.com site

This Crazy Life of Mine

Living - Loving - Running

another mother runner

engaging and encouraging you to run like a mother

The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans LLC

Empowering and inspiring women to live healthier lives.

finallygoingtodothis

Finally going to run a half marathon

