Last Chance Work Out day

So today is last chance workout day for weigh-in tomorrow. I am feeling really good this week and hoping to another pound to keep things “slow and steady” coming off. Today’s training is 5K with 4 strides (run as fast as I can for about 100 meters or 30 seconds). This will bring me back to my ball playing days (oh how i miss playing baseball – going to look into getting back into this again one of these years).

Yesterday was my “day off”, Hubby had a date with Mrs. Elliptical (my kids thought this was pretty funny) and did 25 minutes. I was so proud of him!!! It was great. While he did this I grabbed my monthly challenge sheets and did a 30 minute session of mixed exercises. The kids loved this too and joined right in. I had to chuckle when my daughter pulled out her “challenge book”. She had taken a scribbler and on each page drew an exercise and how many reps she had to do of each. There are 10 different exercises, from jumping jacks, summersaults, kartwheels, push-ups, burpees, running in a spot, etc. It is great!!

Mom's training plans & Emily's training plans

Mom’s training plans & Emily’s training plans

Of course when the kids see us doing “exercises” it bring up the topic of “why are we doing this”, “are you trying to lose weight”. It opens the door for very healthy conversations about getting healthy, stong, being fit, good heart health, being proud of who you are and of your accomplishments. I am very fortunate that my kids are at an age where they don’t really talk about negative body image. My husband and I, although both had to lose some weight, try our best to not talk about “losing weight” or the negative parts of our body that we don’t like with or infront of our kids. We talk about how we are making changes to become stong people, so that we can do all of the fun and great things that we like to do (hiking, swimming, playing outside). I hope that as we continue on this journey that our kids will build that pride and love for their bodies and know they are perfect the way they are.

So off to get some work done then at lunch I will hit the road for today’s workout. One of the benefits of working from home, I get to dress in my workout gear first thing in the morning and don’t have to worry about changing before, it’s a little extra motivation to get out the door. With Valentine’s day this week, we are taking an idea that we got from the Biggest Loser last night, we are going to go sledding or hiking to spend the night as an active family. Hopefully the weather will cooperate 🙂

Leave a Reply

Run Find Your Happy Pace

finding my happy pace in running and life

Marathon Mom

Finally going to run a half marathon

STUFT Mama

Finally going to run a half marathon

Focused Drive

Finally going to run a half marathon

Growing Up Mo!!!

Finally going to run a half marathon

Live Laugh Run Breathe

Finally going to run a half marathon

Running While Mommy

Finally going to run a half marathon

Shut Up + Run

Finally going to run a half marathon

Runs for Cookies

Finally going to run a half marathon

one foot 2 foot

a girl's running tales to promote happy 'n healthy one step at a time

In Mid Stride

A fine WordPress.com site

This Crazy Life of Mine

Living - Loving - Running

another mother runner

engaging and encouraging you to run like a mother

The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans LLC

Empowering and inspiring women to live healthier lives.

finallygoingtodothis

Finally going to run a half marathon

