Flu bug

Good morning,
The last few days have been awful, the flu bug hit here last week with my son being sick two days which meant two very long nights for me washing bedding, scrubbing walls, floors and every other surface that was splattered on. Then on Friday night, just after my date with Mr. Elliptical I was hit by a Mack truck then trampled by a herd of elephants. It hit me just as fast as that too. I was feeling fine up until that point. We had gone out to do some shopping, then came home and my husband and I both got in our workouts. I did the mile for the “March Mile Challenge”, where I have to put in a mile every day for March, then my daily ab and arms challenges. I was feeling tired but nothing unusual after a work out. Then when I hit the shower holy smokes…. NOT GOOD.
Friday night and Saturday were a complete write-off. Thank goodness my husband was home and my kids played AWESOME together on Saturday because I slept 97% of Saturday (after being up 97% of Friday night being ill). I HURT all over. My joints ACHED, my head felt like it was going to explode, and my stomach wanted nothing to do with anything. Sunday was a bit better, everything still ached but at least my head didn’t hurt. I tried to go out for a little in the afternoon but that was very short lived and I made everyone come back home where I could lay down again.
Today I seem to be back to normal for the most part, however my body feels like I have just run a marathon (or what I would imagine marathoners feel like after their race). My hips, knees and feet still ache but I can live with that.
Needless to say the I didn’t get in my workouts over the last two days. My training for the half has been thrown way off the last two weeks. So hopefully I can get it back on track. I plan to run a 5 k next Saturday (16th) for St. Paddy’s Day, and am really hoping to RACE it. I have never ran a race to actually race it before, my general motto is to finish doing the best I can. This may be challenging to race as I will probably be pushing my two kids (50 lbs a piece) in the double running stroller. Nothing like a little challenge. At least it will be on pavement and not dirt roads.
What I need to do is get in some longer runs this week to make up some of the missed miles however I don’t think that will work, so I am planning to get in lots of shorter (5kish) runs to get back into the swing of things then build up again. I have lots of traveling this month so need to squeeze in runs where I can.
Here is to a great MARCH!

Leave a Reply

Run Find Your Happy Pace

finding my happy pace in running and life

Marathon Mom

Finally going to run a half marathon

STUFT Mama

Finally going to run a half marathon

Focused Drive

Finally going to run a half marathon

Growing Up Mo!!!

Finally going to run a half marathon

Live Laugh Run Breathe

Finally going to run a half marathon

Running While Mommy

Finally going to run a half marathon

Shut Up + Run

Finally going to run a half marathon

Runs for Cookies

Finally going to run a half marathon

one foot 2 foot

a girl's running tales to promote happy 'n healthy one step at a time

In Mid Stride

A fine WordPress.com site

This Crazy Life of Mine

Living - Loving - Running

another mother runner

engaging and encouraging you to run like a mother

The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans LLC

Empowering and inspiring women to live healthier lives.

finallygoingtodothis

Finally going to run a half marathon

